I’m Crafty – Bookbinding Edition.

I’ve been interested in bookbinding pretty seriously since last semester. I wanted to put together a portfolio for my design class, I checked out a few books for the library, but I never got around to learning how to do it because I never had the time above and beyond my regular work. Thanks to a friendly email from Refinery29 a few months back (yea this post is a long time coming… so is the next one I have planned) I learned about a bookbinding class that was happening at a new shop Press: Works on Paper! Obviously I signed up immediately, because I knew I had to jump on the opportunity.

Pressworks is a small shop stuffed full of goodies: stationary, wrapping paper, rare books, quirky desk items, and bookbinding tools (of course). If it’s unique and has to do with books or paper, I’d bet that they have it stocked or can get it for you.

I won’t get into all of the gritty details, but I had a great time! Our teacher Jennie was amazing. She was so friendly and passionate, and really wanted to make sure everyone understood each step. I definitely want to take another class to learn a different method ASAP. In fact they’re actually hosting a class this Saturday that I’m thinking about going to (info here).

I snapped a few iphone pics (sorry for the poor quality!) of the bookbinding process that you can continue to checkout below. If you’re interested in reading more about Press: Works on Paper, the Bold Italic did a really nice write-up on the class and took some killer pics (Me and my hands are in a lot of them [see below], no big deal.)

Honestly, please click on this link for the Bold Italic, hopefully you’ll get as big a kick out of it as I did!

    • Heather
    • November 14th, 2011

    Jaci! You’re famous!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

