I Absolutely Cannot Get Enough Yeasayer.

Whenever anyone ever asks me what my favorite (food, song, animal, movie, color, band… etc. basically just enter any category that makes sense here) is I’m always stumped. I’ve never been one to have favorites in any part of my life, and whenever asked this telling question I have always had to ramble off a minimum of 3 to 10 items pertaining to the category in question.

With that being said know what is about to follow is huge for me.

Yeasayer just might be my favorite band. (at least for the moment.)

I have been (not so) patiently awaiting their new album, Odd Blood, for quite some time now, but it all started heating up for me when I saw them at Fun Fun Fun Fest last November.

Their single Ambling Alp (video below) was released a few days before the festival, but I hadn’t heard it until I saw them perform it live. I was hooked immediately.

Check out the music video below… but be forewarned, do not watch if naked bodies rolling around in the desert isn’t your thing.

My favorite part of the song (although hard to choose) is probably the funky-falsetto break downs that they do throughout the song. SO GOOD

Odd Blood is due out February 9th via Secretly Canadian. Follow their twitter @OddBlood for updates pertaining to the album and upcoming tour. They’re gonna be here in the ATX for TWO NIGHTS in April at the Parish. Is it okay that I’m tempted to go twice? Anyone with me?

Twenty-Ten Tour Dates:

02.05 Los Angeles, CA – Natural History Museum
02.08 New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom
02.09 Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall of Williamsburg
04.03 Washington, DC – 9:30 Club
04.04 Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle
04.05 Asheville, NC – Orange Peel
04.06 Atlanta, GA – Masquerade
04.07 Memphis, TN – Hi Tone Cafe
04.08 Dallas, TX – Granada Theatre
04.09 Houston, TX – House of Blues
04.10 Austin, TX – The Parish
04.11 Austin, TX – The Parish

04.14 Tucson, AZ – Club Congress
04.15 Phoenix, AZ – Rhythm Room
04.17 San Francisco, CA – The Fillmore
04.19 Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom
04.20 Seattle, WA – Neumos
04.21 Vancouer, BC – Commodore Ballroom
04.23 Salt Lake City, UT – In The Venue
04.24 Denver, CO – Bluebird Theatre
04.25 Omaha, NE – Waiting Room
04.26 Saint Louis, MO – Gargoyle Club
04.27 Minneapolis, MN – Varsity Theatre
04.28 Madison, WI – Majestic Theatre
04.29 Chicago, IL – Metro
04.30 Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop
05.01 Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace
05.02 Montreal, PQ – La Sala Rossa
05.03 Boston, MA – Paradise
05.04 New York, NY – Webster Hall
05.05 Philadelphia, PA – The Trocadero

Oh, and just for fun here’s another video for their song Tightrope that I LOVE.

Leave a Reply

